Diary Entry – How do you prep yourself for a trip to your dream city? 

Disclaimer – This article was written on July 28th, 2022 out of sheer thrill and excitement. All the emotions depicted in this article are true in its deepest sense. Also, there are a dozen of ways to prep yourself for a trip to your dream city but this is how I did it 🙂

First things first. You dream about visiting your dream city, exactly 10 years before your actual trip. Every time you come across something on the television or social media about your dream city, your heart skips a beat and you get excited like a kid in a candy store. You watch that clip over and over again and you of course have a thousand pictures of your dream city in your phone gallery. You even have a folder on your laptop under the name “The-Dream-City-Name”. 

When you hear about people visiting the city, you don’t get jealous. You get super excited because that’s the amount of love you have for the city and in that moment, you are living vicariously through them and their visit to your dream city. 

Just the name of the city gets you insanely excited. You collect things that relate close enough to your dream city. Your friends even gift you things that relate to your dream city. You are even called out for being obsessed with the city but only you know what it means to you.

3 years before your actual trip, your Parents get a chance to visit your dream city. They video call you from there and you take screenshots while you are on call, because why not? They are as excited as you are. They obviously get you souvenirs. A picture of them, in your dream city becomes a wallpaper on your phone for the longest time. 

2.5 years before your actual trip you even try to attempt to get hold of a visa. You sit and dream about being in your dream city. You imagine things in your head, what you will wear because; good pictures. What will you eat and where will you go because you are going to finally get to live your dream. But little do you know; the universe is not quite ready to send you there yet and you get a visa rejection. You are heartbroken. Because your mother and your husband (then fiancé) have a visa and now you will have to live vicariously and regrettably through them. When they get there, there’s a strike in the city and they end up hating their time there.

You realize maybe that’s why you didn’t get the visa. The universe cares for you and your love for the city. The universe obviously does not want you to have a bad time there. 

A picture that my husband sent me while he was there. I fell in love all over again (with Paris of course ;))

You are now sure of one thing; the universe is going to conspire a plan to help you get there. By this point you trust the universe blindly. 

Almost a year before your actual trip, you move to the same continent as that of your dream city. You now have a deep seated trust in the Universe. You believe that it is going to happen, sooner or later.

So, you wait. You wait patiently. 

And then a month before your actual trip, you learn that there are high chances that the trip will finally happen. But you try and contain your excitement because you don’t want to jinx it. You let things build up. You still are trying to contain your excitement but it is getting really difficult. 

Your loved ones are as excited as you are because they know that your dream is finally coming true. But they are not really talking about it just teasing you. Your best friend, who lives in another continent calls you up just to check up on you and your excitement. Because she is as excited as you are. Because it is finally going to happen.

Now, 10 days before your trip, you book your tickets, FINALLY! You now start dreaming of finally being there.

You are getting closer to living your dream! (a-few-dancing-girl-emojis)

4 nights before your trip, you start showing the calendar to your husband. You keep reminding him that you are getting closer to the date and you keep grinning.

3 nights before your husband finally addresses the situation and says “Look at you” in view of the fact that you cannot stop smiling. 

You tell him “I don’t think you understand my excitement”,

to which he says “you are right, I don’t. Your dream is finally coming true and I am excited as much but your frame of mind can never be matched.” That makes you fall in love all over again, with your husband of course. (grins)

2 days before your trip you finally start packing. You have like a hundred options suddenly. The girl who always thinks “I have nothing to wear” suddenly cannot decide what to take to the trip to her dream city.

By the way, the day when you are reaching the city also happens to be your birthday. It’s just a small tiny coincidence. And also, a greater realisation that dreams definitely do come true and somethings are just meant to be. 

You normally wear new clothes on your birthday but this time you decide to carry your most favourite dress, doesn’t matter old or new. You want to look your best and feel the best. 

You have picked your best outfits and are about to pack your bag when you realise that this story deserves to be told. So, you leave everything and sit and write this article. 

Do you know who this “you” is? It’s me 😊

I am going to get to live my dream.

I’m traveling to my dream city tomorrow evening.

I am going to my dream city. I am going to my dream city.

I am going to PARIS

The feeling is still sinking in. I am still trying to process it. I’m smiling while writing this. The 16-year-old me is jumping inside me. 


Maybe the bag was packed but I hadn’t been able to gather my emotions. The feeling that one normally has before going on a trip, the forgetfulness of not leaving anything important behind, I had it too. I did not want to leave any emotion behind. I wanted to feel every emotion that I felt when I first started fantasizing about the city. I did not want to leave any stones unturned. So I wrote this little article, felt the rush, majorly.

I have documented my feelings this time through words more than pictures. Signing off now but stay tuned my friend, there is a lot more in this series. ❤

Leave a comment